Members’ Encouragement Award (MEA)

Our MEA Awards run monthly (in most months of the year) and serve as an opportunity for members to submit artwork for valuation by members of the Society. Points are accumulated for each entry as well as additional ones for those who win 1st and 2nd place each month. These points are tallied for prizes to be given at the last members’ meeting of the year in December.


The Members’ Encouragement Awards (MEA’s)are running as follows :
You will be using email to submit your entry each month and to vote – there will not be voting at the monthly meetings.  The results of the voting will be announced at each monthly meeting and the winning paintings will be announced to members via our monthly eNewsletter.  Each month the Certificates will be emailed to the winners.
At the December meeting the winners and runners up of each category will be announced and prizes given or mailed out.
The schedule for online MEAs to follow is below:
  • In the first week of each month an email will prompt you to submit your painting to 
  • On the 15th of each month entries close
  • An email displaying all the entries will prompt you to vote
  • Voting closes on the last day of the month
  • Winners (first and second in each category) will be announced at the monthly meeting
  • Winning paintings will be announced in our eNewsletter
  • Certificates will be emailed


At some meetings when we are able to meet at the Hall in Mount Waverley, we will also have a ‘Demonstrator’s Award’ where we are asking you to bring in your paintings. The Demonstrator will nominate a ‘criteria’ and select the painting that best demonstrates the criteria, and then present an Award.


We encourage our members to enter – we really want to acknowledge your artwork and be part of your art journey. Even if you think yours is not as good as everyone else’s – it doesn’t matter. We are all here to learn and be encouraged by our fellow artists. This is what our Society is all about – to give advice & encouragement to artists to develop their pastel painting skills and hopefully the opportunity to learn from seeing others’ work and, of course, from the demonstrations and talks given at the meetings.

Further Information

  1. Each member is allowed to enter one painting only.
    Members are asked to submit via email, two (2) photos :
    a) a hi-resolution image of your painting prior to framing
    b) an image of you next to your painting (your painting can be framed for this 2nd image) Email both to
    For the second photograph we suggest you asking a member of your household to take the photo for you, or use the ‘time-lapse’ function on your camera, tablet or smartphone, or take a ‘selfie’.  If you find this too onerous, email us the image of your painting (unframed) and a separate image of just yourself.
  2. VERY IMPORTANT : include which Category you are entering in ie. Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced or Professional. For more information on these Categories, see Further Information below.
  3. If we receive any enquiries about your painting eg. to purchase, we will put them in touch with the artist
  4. Every time a painting is entered online, that person receives one point. From the tallying of the votes, the first choice in each section receives three points, and the second choice receives two points. So at the end of the year, when the points are tallied, if you have entered a painting every month, your points might add up to more than a person who has entered a painting only 2 or 3 times and has won the MEA Award for those months. A prize is given to the winners of each section.

You can find all the web links for our MEA Awards under the Awards heading in our menu at the top of our website.


There are four sections for entering and voting by financial members : Emerging. Intermediate, Advanced and Professional.

The first section is Emerging, (for those artists who have never won any award anywhere and/or who are new to the medium). If an artist wins this section two years in a row, they automatically advance to the Intermediate Section.

The second section is Intermediate,  (for those artists who have won minor awards – internally or in external shows, such as ‘commended’ or ‘highly commended’, but have never won a major prize). If an artist wins this section two years in a row, they automatically advance to the Advanced Section.

The third section is Advanced, in which the members have won the Intermediate Section two years in a row; or are winners of categories in the PSVA Exhibitions; or are proficient artists on entry to the Pastel Society and have won prizes in external shows, but are new to the medum.

The Professional Section is for Professional/Career artists who have won the Advanced section two years in a row.

MEA Award Annual Winners 2019

EME 2019_Mardi Joplin | Pastel Society of Victoria, Australia

Caroline Lewallen (left) presenting the 2019 Annual MEA Award 1st Place, Emerging Artist to Mardi Joplin


Emerging – Mardi Joplin
Intermediate – Peter Fielding
Advanced – Pauline McCutcheon 


Emerging – Catherine Wite and Isabelle McKenzie (equal points) 
Intermediate – Robert Diss 
Advanced – Lois Bannister and Helen Permezel (equal points)

MEA Award Annual Winners 2020

Kerryn Young tied 2nd place in the Intermediate category


Emerging – Mardi Joplin
Intermediate – Joe Zapp
Advanced – Jenny Griffiths
Professional – Caroline Lewallen


Emerging – Denise Tomlinson
Intermediate – Sue Rochford and Kerryn Young
Advanced – Peter Fielding
Professional – Helen Miles